Staff datesStaff Dates

Staff Dates

Senior Staff Video Conference (9:30 PM)
Tuesday, April 24

Staff Chat Room
Tuesday, February 6 and Tuesday, May 1

Pre-Camp Starts
Tuesday, May 29

Outdoor Adventure Staff Training (9AM)
Sunday, June 3

WSI Training (9AM)
Tuesday, June 5

Lifeguard Certification Course (9AM)
Saturday, June 9

Waterfront Staff Training (9 AM)
Saturday, June 9

Leadership Training (9AM) (Returners Noon)
Sunday, June 10

Baseball/Softball Staff (9 AM)
Sunday, June 10

Media Staff (9AM)
Sunday, June 10

Office Staff (9AM)
Sunday, June 10

Drama Staff (9 AM)
Sunday, June 10

Gymnastics Staff (9 AM)
Sunday, June 10

Infirmary Staff (9 AM)
Sunday, June 10

Support Staff (KMP)
Tuesday, June 12

Arts & Crafts Staff (9 AM)
Wednesday, June 13

All Other International Counselors Arrive
Thursday, June 14

All Staff Orientation Starts (12 noon)
Friday, June 15

Flying Campers Arrive
Friday, June 22

Camp Begins
Saturday, June 23

Campers Depart
Friday, August 10

Post Camp Work Starts
Saturday, August 11

KMP Last Day
Monday, August 20

ACA Accredited

ACA Accreditation means that the camp you are considering for your child cares enough to undergo a thorough (over 300 standards) review of its operation – from staff qualifications and training to emergency management. American Camp Association collaborates with experts from The American Academy of Pediatrics, the American Red Cross and other youth service agencies to assure that current practices at the camp reflect the most up-to-date, research-based standards in camp operation. Camps and ACA form a partnership that promotes summers of growth and fun in an environment committed to safety.

ACA helps accredited camps provide:
Healthy, developmentally appropriate and learning experiences and activities;
Discovery through experiential education; Caring, competent role models;
Service to the community and the environment; Opportunities for leadership and personal growth.

Accreditation is voluntary and ACA accreditation assures families that camps have made the commitment to a safe, nurturing environment for their children.

ACA goes beyond basic requirements for health, cleanliness, and food service into specific areas of programming, including camp staff from director throughout counselors, emergency management plans, health care, and management. ACA applies separate standards for activities such as waterfront, adventure and travel.

Parents can (and should) verify the accreditation status of any camp at any time by visiting ACA’s website www.ACAcamps.org or by calling 1-800-428-CAMP.
If the camp you are considering is not ACA accredited, ask WHY NOT?


Camp Towanda is not only accredited by the American Camp Association, but has staff members that serve on the ACA Board of Directors as well as one of their Accreditation Inspectors of other camps. Mitch is a former board member himself, of the ACA as well as a Steering Committee member and speaker at the annual camp association conference. He is actively involved and on the boards of several charitable organizations (SCOPE, L.O.V.E. and VisionWalk) that he gets the campers involved in.

Camp Towanda background bits pre load